Homestead WebFile is a FREE way to file Homestead claims. Like KS WebFile, refunds can be deposited directly into your bank account. Homestead WebFile is safe and secure. While all claim requirements must be met and information verified, filing electronically can speed up the refund process. File your Homestead claim now by clicking here.
The Homestead Refund is a rebate program for the property taxes paid by homeowners. The refund is based on a portion of the property tax paid on a Kansas resident’s home. The maximum refund is $700.
To qualify you must be a Kansas resident, living in Kansas the entire year. Your total household income must be $36,600 or less.
You must also meet one of the following requirements:
- You were born before Jan. 1, 1966; OR
- You must have been blind or totally and permanently disabled all of 2021, regardless of your age; OR
- You must have a dependent child who lived with you the entire year who was born before January 1, 2021, and was under the age of 18 the entire year.
SAFESR - Kansas Property Tax Relief for Low Income Seniors
SAFESR is a property tax refund program administered under the provisions of the Kansas Homestead Act (property tax refund). SAFESR is also referred to as, "Kansas Property Tax Relief for Low Income Seniors".
The refund is 75% of the 2021 general property tax paid or to be paid - as shown on the 2021 real estate tax statement for the residence in which the claimant lived in 2021. The 2021 property tax consists of the 1st half which is due December 20, 2021 and the 2nd half which is due May 10, 2022. The 2021 property tax is the total of both the 1st and 2nd half taxes.
A claimant may receive either a Homestead or a SAFESR refund but not both.
You must meet all the following requirements for the SAFESR refund -
- Kansas resident all of 2021,
- Owned a home in Kansas during 2021,
- Aged 65 years or older for all of 2021 (born before Jan. 1, 1956) and
- "Household income" of $20,900 or less in 2021, and
- House cannot be valued at more than $350,000.
Homestead and SAFESR Refund Advancement Program
This program provides eligible homeowners with the opportunity to apply a portion of their anticipated Homestead refund to help pay the first half of their property tax.
There is a question on both Forms K-40H and K-40PT asking the homeowner whether you want your next year’s Homestead or SAFESR refund to be sent directly to your County Treasurer. If this box was checked on your 2020 form K-40H or K-40PT, your anticipated 2021 Homestead or SAFESR refund claim was sent to the County Treasurer in December 2021 to pay toward the 1st half of your 2021 property taxes due on December 20, 2021. The 2021 Homestead claim (form K-40H) or SAFESR claim (form K-40PT) must still be completed and filed no later than April 15, 2022, in order to pay back the “early” or “advanced” refund sent on the homeowner’s behalf to the county in December 2021.
If you do not check this box on the 2021 form K-40H or K-40PT, you cannot participate in the Homestead advancement program, and none of your 2021 Homestead or SAFESR refund will be used to pay your 2022 property taxes.