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NOTICE 24-07 
 

WITHHOLDING TAX PENALTY CHANGES 
 

(JULY 1, 2024) 
 

 During the 2024 Legislative Session Senate Bill 410 was passed and signed into law.  Section 
17 of the Bill amended K.S.A. 79-32,107, which controls the imposition of penalty and interest for 
noncompliance with the provisions of the Kansas withholding and declaration of estimated tax act. 
 

 

 Most of the provisions of K.S.A. 79-32,107 remain unchanged.  The substantive amendments 
to K.S.A. 79-32,107(f) address the case of failure by an employer to timely remit withholding tax.  
Under current law, when a penalty is imposed, it is imposed at the rate of 15%, regardless of how 
late the remittance is made.  The new language, in what is now subsection (f)(1), provides the 
penalty which will be imposed on a remittance made after the due date of the return, as determined 
under K.S.A. 79-3298, is to be: 

 (A) 2% of the amount of the underpayment if remitted within one to five days; 
 (B) 5% of the amount of the underpayment if remitted within six to 15 days; 
 (C) 10% of the amount of the underpayment if remitted after 15 days; and 
 (D) 15% of the amount of the underpayment if remitted after 15 days and the 
department has issued a notice to the person regarding the underpayment but the 
amount of the underpayment was not remitted within 10 days of issuance of the notice. 
 

 

 

 

 

 The new provisions are effective July 1, 2024.  Any remittance that was due, but unpaid, 
prior to July 1, 2024, will be subject to the imposition of penalty at the rate of 15%. 

TAXPAYER ASSISTANCE 

 Additional copies of this notice, forms or publications are available from our website, 
www.ksrevenue.gov.  If you have questions about this Notice, please contact: 

Taxpayer Assistance Center 
Kansas Department of Revenue 
Scott Office Building, 1st Floor 

120 SE 10th Ave 
P. O. Box 3506 

Topeka, KS  66601-3506 
Phone: 785-368-8222 

Hearing Impaired TTY: 785-296-6461 
Fax: 785-291-3614 
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