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FREQUENTLY ASKED 
QUESTIONS

Who can apply for this refund?
Any individual or business that paid sales or use tax directly to 

the Kansas Department of Revenue (KDOR) that was not owed 
and was paid in error, may apply to the Department for a refund. If 
the tax was paid to a retailer, the refund should be requested from 
that retailer. Certain exceptions allow KDOR to issue a refund 
directly to an individual or business that paid tax to a retailer 
(see Part E of Form ST-21, Assignment of Right to Refund). An 
individual or business that paid a tax that is administered by the 
Secretary of Revenue to a county treasurer may apply directly 
to the KDOR for a refund of that tax.

Is there a time limit to request a refund?
Yes. You must file a complete sales and use tax refund claim 

within three years from the date the tax was due from the retailer 
to KDOR. There is a unique statute of limitations for refunds of 
bad debts. See page 4.

Is there a dollar limit on a refund request?
Yes. Refund applications submitted by a retailer to KDOR must 

be for taxes that total $5 or more. Refund applications submitted 
directly to the Department by a consumer or purchaser must be for 
taxes that total $50 or more. Refund applications that do not meet 
these statutory threshold amounts will not be reviewed by KDOR.

What if I’ve never filed a tax return in Kansas?
In order to receive a refund, you will need to complete IRS 

Form W-9, and submit it with your refund request. The W-9 form 
is available at: www.irs.gov

As a retailer may I take a credit on my return instead of 
requesting a refund?

A retailer should not take a deduction or credit on his/her tax 
return, except for taxes refunded on returned goods. Instead, the 
retailer is required to submit a written refund application to KDOR.

Should I send documentation with the application?
Yes. In almost every case, documentation is required. Refer 

to the specific line instructions for Form ST-21, that begin on 
page 3. These instructions provide the most common reasons 
for requesting a refund and list the documentation required. If 

additional information is needed beyond what is requested, KDOR 
will contact you in writing.

Will an Assignment of Right to Refund relieve me of 
providing proof of tax paid to the retailer?

No. You must still provide proof of tax paid to your vendor, 
such as a copy of a canceled check or an electronic copy of your 
accounts payable showing tax paid to vendor.

How long to process my refund request?
KDOR will begin processing your refund request after the 

application and all of the necessary documentation is received. 
Processing the information may take up to 120 days.

How can I find out the status of my refund application?
You can check on the status of your refund by calling Audit 

Services at 785-296-7108 or email at KDOR_Audit.Funds@
ks.gov. Be prepared to provide the following information: your 
Social Security Number, your federal Employer Identification 
Number (EIN), the tax type, the exact amount of refund requested, 
and the date you mailed the request.

Will I be entitled to interest on my refund?
Not necessarily. After KDOR receives the application and ALL 

supporting documentation, a refund will be issued within 120 
days. If the refund process take more than 120 days, interest 
will be computed from the date that KDOR received the final 
documentation that completes the application. Kansas law deems 
the date of receipt to be the postmark date on the package that 
contains the documentation or the date of mailing as certified by 
a private delivery company.

What should I do if my application is returned to me as 
incomplete?

Incomplete applications will not be reviewed by KDOR. KDOR 
will notify you in writing and list the additional documentation you 
must provide to complete your refund application. You will have 60 
days from the date of the written notice to submit the requested 
documentation. If your refund application is still incomplete after 
you submit additional documentation or for more than 60 days 
from the date of the notice, the Department will return your 
incomplete refund application. If this happens, you will be required 
to file a new refund application for the refund in question and the 
statute of limitations will continue to run until it is submitted with 
complete documentation.
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However, if you believe that your refund application was 
complete, you may request an informal conference to review the 
Department of Revenue’s determination. The letter you receive from 
the Department will explain how to request an informal conference.

May my CPA, attorney or consultant handle the refund 
request?

Yes. However, you must complete and submit form DO-10 
Power of Attorney, that gives the Kansas Department of Revenue 
the authority to discuss confidential tax matters with your chosen 
representative. If a Power of Attorney form is not included with your 
refund request, all correspondence will be sent to you. The Power 
of Attorney form is available on our website at: ksrevenue.gov

What if I owe KDOR money?
The Kansas Department of Revenue reserves the right to 

apply refunds to any existing debts owed to the Department, 
regardless of the tax type.

Where do I get additional copies of the forms?
The forms discussed in this publication, along with many other 

tax forms are available on our website at: ksrevenue.gov

Where do I send my refund application?
Mail your completed ST-21, Sales and Use Tax Refund 

Application, along with all required documentation to:
Kansas Department of Revenue

Audit Services Bureau / Sales Tax Refund
PO Box 3506

Topeka, KS 66601-3506
You may also email to: KDOR_Audit.Funds@ks.gov

COMPLETING THE SALES TAX 
REFUND APPLICATION

Follow the instructions in this section to complete an 
accurate application for a sales or use tax refund.

Complete form ST-21 application and provide the 
appropriate documentation to the retailer from whom you 
made the purchase.

The consumer may file the refund request directly with the 
Kansas Department of Revenue if the retailer is no longer in 
business, insolvent, moved or is unable to act. Complete Part 
F of Form ST-21 to verify the retailer’s status.

If you paid the tax directly to the Department of Revenue, 
then you may submit the application without going through 
the retailer. Include copies of your returns and supporting 
documentation when mailing Form ST-21.

PART A – RETAILER (VENDOR)
Enter all requested information for the retailer in Part A.  

Fields marked with an asterisk require an entry in order to 
process the application.

Mark the box that applies to your refund source and indicate 
whether the consumer received a refund or credit by marking 
the “yes” or “no” box.

KDOR requires authorization from the Retailer/Vendor to 
allow a KDOR associate to discuss the refund request with 
any employee of the company and not only the contact person 
listed on the refund application. Mark the proper box to allow 
or disallow the authorization.

A Power of Attorney form is still required documentation if 

the request is prepared/filed by a 3rd party. ONLY an owner, 
partner, company officer or 3rd party with a Power of Attorney 
accompanying the request may sign the refund application.

PART B – CLAIMANT (CONSUMER)
Enter all requested information for the claimant in Part B.  

Fields marked with an asterisk require an entry in order to 
process the application.

KDOR requires authorization from the Claimant/Consumer 
to allow a KDOR associate to discuss the refund request with 
any employee of the company and not only the contact person 
listed on the refund application. Mark the proper box to allow 
or disallow the authorization.

A Power of Attorney form is still required documentation if 
the request is prepared/filed by a 3rd party. ONLY an owner, 
partner, company officer or 3rd party with a Power of Attorney 
accompanying the request may sign the refund application.

PART C – REFUND INFORMATION
Enter the amount of your refund request and mark the box 

that applies to the refund type. You must provide the applicable 
exemption certificates with this application.

PART D – REFUND REQUEST SCHEDULE
Complete Part D with the information on an electronic 

schedule, using Excel formatting, if available. Part D must 
include the following:

– Invoice Date. Enter the month, day, and year in 
chronological order.

– Invoice Number.
– Vendor Name.
– Description of Item(s). Provide a complete, detailed 

description of the invoiced item.
– Retail Price.
– Tax Paid.
– Account Code. This is the fixed asset or expense account 

to which the item purchased is being coded in your 
business chart of accounts.

– Reason for Exemption. Provide a complete, detailed 
explanation for why the item is exempt and reference 
the statute number that supports that reason. Additional 
information is needed if the exemption is based on any 
of the following reasons:

•	 Materials consumed in production. Describe how 
the materials are consumed.

•	 Machinery and equipment. Describe how the 
equipment is used in the manufacturing process 
and list the fixed asset or expense account code 
with account descriptions.

•	 Ingredient or component part. Describe how the 
item becomes an ingredient or component part.

PART E – ASSIGNMENT OF RIGHT TO 
REFUND

The retailer completes Part E if the retailer elects not to 
participate in the sales or use tax refund process.

PART F – CLAIMANT / CONSUMER 
AFFIDAVIT

Complete Part F if the retailer refuses to participate in the 
refund process and does not respond or cannot be located. 
Pursuant to K.A.R. 92-19-49c, you must enclose a copy of 
certified mail receipt(s). The certified mail receipt(s) must 

https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/fw9.pdf
https://www.ksrevenue.org/pdf/do10.pdf
https://www.ksrevenue.org/pdf/do10.pdf
https://www.ksrevenue.org/pdf/do10.pdf
https://www.ksrevenue.org/pdf/do10.pdf
mailto:KDOR_Audit.Funds@ks.gov
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contain the retailer’s current business address. NOTE: Please 
ensure good faith requirements are met as indicated in the 
Claimant/Consumer Affidavit, Part F.

PENALTIES
Pursuant to K.S.A. 79-3615(j), a person applying to the 

department for a refund of any tax imposed under the Kansas 
retailers’ sales tax act that was not previously collected by 
the retailer, or that the retailer has already refunded to such 
person, shall be subject to a penalty of 50% of the amount 
of any such tax sought to be refunded. No such penalty shall 
be imposed against such person if the retailer collected the 
tax but did not remit such tax to the Department of Revenue.

REQUIRED DOCUMENTATION
The following instructions list the most common reasons 

for requesting a sales or use tax refund. Select your reason 
from one of the listed categories. Each category lists the 
information and documentation that is needed to process the 
sales or use tax refund request you are submitting on Form 
ST-21. Provide as much of the documentation as possible. 
The documentation may be submitted via electronic media to 
KDOR_Audit.Funds@ks.gov. If more information is needed, 
the Department of Revenue will contact you in writing.

IMPORTANT: The more detailed information that you can 
provide, the more quickly we can process your request for 
refund.

AMENDED RETURNS
Complete Parts A, B, C and D of Form ST-21.

Required Documentation:
1)	 Detailed explanation for the error or overpayment.
2)	 Copy of original invoices or other relevant documents 

verifying the transaction(s).
3)	 Copy of the original return(s). If filing Form ST-36, include 

Part III with backup detail to those returns such as an 
electronic copy of the sales tax payable account to verify 
the tax was paid to Kansas.

4)	 Copy of the amended return(s). If filing Form ST-36, include 
Part III.

5)	 Explanation of how the refund amount is computed.
6)	 Proof the sales tax was refunded to the customer, such as 

one of the following:
a)	 Copy of front and back of canceled check refunding 

customer‘s payment; or,
b)	 copy of irrevocable credit memo that was issued to 

customer.

BAD DEBT
When filing a refund request for bad debt, please follow the 

guidelines as written in K.A.R. 92-19-3b.
Complete Parts A, B, C and D of Form ST-21. Part D 

contains the following information and, if available, it must be 
submitted in an electronic format.

•	 Invoice date (month, day and year in chronological order).
•	 Invoice number.
•	 Vendor name.
•	 Retail price of the invoiced item.
•	 Tax paid on the invoiced item.

Required Documentation:
1)	 Detailed explanation for the error or overpayment.
2)	 Explanation of how the refund amount is computed.
3)	 Copy of the original return(s) with backup detail to those returns 

such as electronic copy of the sales tax payable account to verify 
the tax was paid to Kansas. If filing ST-36, include Part III.

4)	 Copy of original source documents such as invoices, leases, 
contracts, etc.

5)	 Copy of the customer payment history.
6)	 Copy of company policy for writing off bad debts and supporting 

schedules showing how the bad debts are written off.
7)	 Copy of federal income tax return the bad debts were claimed 

on with the schedule of bad debts written off on the federal 
income tax return.

EXEMPTION CLAIMS BASED ON STATUTES
l.	 Manufacturing Machinery and Equipment

[K.S.A. 79-3606(kk)]

Complete Parts A, B, C and D of Form ST-21. Part D contains 
the following information and, if available, it must be submitted 
in an electronic format.

•	 Invoice date (month, day and year in chronological order).
•	 Invoice number.
•	 Vendor name.
•	 A complete description of the invoiced item.
•	 Retail price of the invoiced item.
•	 Tax paid on the invoiced item.
•	 A complete explanation for why the item is exempt and the 

supporting statute number. Also list the fixed asset or expense 
account code with account descriptions.

•	 If the purchase is for the repair of manufacturing equipment 
explain how the piece of equipment being repaired is used 
in the manufacturing process.

•	 If the purchase is for manufacturing equipment explain 
how the piece of equipment being purchased is used in the 
manufacturing process.

CAUTION: A statement of usage that only references 
Kansas statutes, Kansas administrative regulations, or only 
provide a generic description such as “repair parts” shall be 
deemed an insufficient explanation for the basis of a refund.

Required Documentation:
1)	 Copy of manufacturing machinery and equipment exemption 

certificate.
2)	 Copy of the invoices.
3)	 Proof that tax was submitted to Kansas such as detail 

schedules supporting the original return or an electronic 
copy of the sales tax payable account to verify the tax was 
paid to Kansas (if request is submitted by vendor).

4)	 Assignment of Rights (if tax was paid to the vendor and 
consumer is seeking a refund directly from Kansas).

5)	 Proof tax was paid (if request is submitted by consumer):
a)	 Copy of front and back of canceled check to vendor or,
b)	 electronic copy of accounts payable showing tax paid to 

vendor and,
c)	 Self-assessed tax – Proof that tax was remitted to the 

State, such as tax accrual schedules supporting the 
taxpayer’s return. Provide accrual detail from the tax 
account period where the tax was originally reported 
up to the refund request submission date to the Kansas 
Department of Revenue. This should include accrual 
detail for each period within the refund request up to 
and including present accruals (electronic copy must be 
provided, if available).

6)	 Proof the tax was refunded to the customer (if request is 

mailto:KDOR_Audit.Funds@ks.gov


5

submitted by vendor) such as one of the following:
a)	 Copy of front and back of canceled check refunding 

customer‘s payment; or,
b)	 copy of irrevocable credit memo that was issued to 

customer.

The more detailed information that you can provide, the 
more quickly we can process your request for refund.

II.	Consumed in Production [K.S.A. 79-3606(n)]

Complete Parts A, B, C and D of Form ST-21. Part D 
contains the following information and, if available, it must be 
submitted in an electronic format.

•	 Invoice date (month, day and year in chronological order).
•	 Invoice number.
•	 Vendor name.
•	 A complete description of the invoiced item.
•	 Retail price of the invoiced item.
•	 Tax paid on the invoiced item.
•	 A complete explanation for why the item is exempt and the 

supporting statute number. Also list the fixed asset or expense 
account code with account descriptions.

•	 For items being consumed in the production process, you 
must provide a description of the item purchased and a factual 
description of how the item is consumed in the production 
process.

CAUTION: A statement of usage that only references 
Kansas statutes, Kansas administrative regulations, or only 
provide a generic description such as “supplies consumed 
in production” shall be deemed an insufficient explanation 
for the basis of a refund.

Required Documentation:
1)	 Copy of consumed in production exemption certificate.
2)	 Copy of the invoices.
3)	 Proof that tax was paid to Kansas such as detail schedules 

supporting the original return or an electronic copy of the 
sales tax payable account to verify the tax was paid to 
Kansas (if request is submitted by vendor).

4)	 Assignment of Rights (if tax was paid to the vendor and the 
consumer is seeking a refund directly from Kansas).

5)	 Proof tax was paid (if request is submitted by consumer):
a)	 Copy of front and back of canceled check to vendor or,
b)	 electronic copy of accounts payable showing tax paid to 

vendor and,
c)	 Self-assessed tax – Proof that tax was remitted to the 

State, such as tax accrual schedules supporting the 
taxpayer’s return. Provide accrual detail from the tax 
account period where the tax was originally reported 
up to the refund request submission date to the Kansas 
Department of Revenue. This should include accrual 
detail for each period within the refund request up to 
and including present accruals (electronic copy must be 
provided, if available).

6)	 Proof the tax was refunded to the customer (if request is 
submitted by vendor) such as one of the following:

a)	 Copy of front and back of canceled check refunding 
customer‘s payment; or,

b)	 copy of irrevocable credit memo that was issued to 
customer.

The more detailed information that you can provide, the 
more quickly we can process your request for refund.

III.	Ingredient or Component Part [K.S.A. 79-3606(m)]

Complete Parts A, B, C and D of Form ST-21. Part D 

contains the following information and, if available, it must be 
submitted in an electronic format.

•	 Invoice date (month, day and year in chronological order).
•	 Invoice number.
•	 Vendor name.
•	 A complete description of the invoiced item.
•	 Retail price of the invoiced item.
•	 Tax paid on the invoiced item.
•	 A complete explanation for why the item is exempt and the 

supporting statute number. Also list the fixed asset or expense 
account code with account descriptions.

•	 For items becoming an ingredient or component part, you 
must provide a description of the item purchased and a 
factual description of how the item is becoming an ingredient 
or component part.

CAUTION: A statement of usage that only references 
Kansas statutes, Kansas administrative regulations, or 
only provide a generic description such as “ingredient or 
component part” shall be deemed an insufficient explanation 
for the basis of a refund.

Required Documentation:
1)	 Copy of ingredient or component part exemption certificate.
2)	 Copy of the invoices.
3)	 Proof that tax was paid to Kansas such as detail schedules 

supporting the original return or an electronic copy of the 
sales tax payable account to verify the tax was paid to 
Kansas (if request is submitted by vendor).

4)	 Assignment of Rights (if tax was paid to the vendor and the 
consumer is seeking a refund directly from Kansas).

5)	 Proof tax was paid (if request is submitted by consumer):
a)	 Copy of front and back of canceled check to vendor or,
b)	 electronic copy of accounts payable showing tax paid to 

vendor and,
c)	 Self-assessed tax – Proof that tax was remitted to the 

State, such as tax accrual schedules supporting the 
taxpayer’s return. Provide accrual detail from the tax 
account period where the tax was originally reported 
up to the refund request submission date to the Kansas 
Department of Revenue. This should include accrual 
detail for each period within the refund request up to 
and including present accruals (electronic copy must be 
provided, if available).

6)	 Proof the tax was refunded to the customer (if request is 
submitted by vendor) such as one of the following:
a)	 Copy of front and back of canceled check refunding 

customer‘s payment; or,
b)	 copy of irrevocable credit memo that was issued to 

customer.

IV. Business or Retail Business Project
[K.S.A. 79-3606(cc) or K.S.A. 79-3606(hhhh)]

Complete Parts A, B, C and D of Form ST-21. Part D 
contains the following information and, if available, it must be 
submitted in an electronic format.

•	 Invoice date (month, day and year in chronological order).
•	 Invoice number.
•	 Vendor name.
•	 A complete description of the invoiced item.
•	 Retail price of the invoiced item.
•	 Tax paid on the invoiced item.
•	 A complete explanation for why the item is exempt and the 

supporting statute number.

All purchases must be for the facility to be eligible for 
exemption and may not leave this facility.
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Required Documentation:
1)	 Qualified firms under HPIP must provide a copy of the 

Kansas Department of Commerce certification letter and 
the project description pre-identifying this investment as well 
as any backup documentation provided to the Department 
of Commerce.

2)	 Description of business activity conducted at the business 
facility and the claimant’s NAICS (North American 
Industry Classification System) code.

3)	 Project beginning and ending dates.
4)	 Copy of the invoices, including any sub-contractor invoices 

related to the project. You must use the ST-21PEC if you 
are requesting a refund for tax your subcontractors 
paid for materials incorporated into your project.

5)	 Proof that tax was paid to Kansas such as detail schedules 
supporting the original return or an electronic copy of the 
sales tax payable account to verify the tax was paid to 
Kansas (if request is submitted by vendor).

6)	 Assignment of Rights (if tax was paid to the vendor and 
consumer is seeking refund directly from Kansas).

7)	 Proof the tax was paid:
a)	 Copy of front and back of canceled check to vendor or,
b)	 Electronic copy of accounts payable showing tax paid to 

vendor and,
c)	 Self-assessed tax – Proof that tax was remitted to the 

State, such as tax accrual schedules supporting the 
taxpayer’s return. Provide accrual detail from the tax 
account period where the tax was originally reported 
up to the refund request submission date to the Kansas 
Department of Revenue. This should include accrual 
detail for each period within the refund request up to 
and including present accruals (electronic copy must be 
provided, if available).

8)	 Proof the tax was refunded to the customer (if request is 
submitted by vendor) such as one of the following:
a)	 Copy of front and back of canceled check refunding 

customer‘s payment; or,
b)	 Copy of irrevocable credit memo that was issued to 

customer.

V.	 Hospital, School, Political Subdivision 
Project [K.S.A. 79-3606(d)]

Complete Parts A, B, C and D of Form ST-21. Part D 
contains the following information and, if available, it must be 
submitted in an electronic format.

•	 Invoice date (month, day and year in chronological order).
•	 Invoice number.
•	 Vendor name.
•	 A complete description of the invoiced item.
•	 Retail price of the invoiced item.
•	 Tax paid on the invoiced item.
•	 A complete explanation for why the item is exempt and the 

supporting statute number.

Required Documentation:
1)	 Copy of valid project exemption certificate.
2)	 Copy of invoices.
3)	 Proof that tax was paid to Kansas such as detail schedules 

supporting the original return or an electronic copy of the 
sales tax payable account to verify the tax was paid to 
Kansas (if request is submitted by vendor).

4)	 Assignment of Rights (if tax was paid to the vendor and 
consumer is seeking refund directly from Kansas).

5)	 Proof tax was paid (if request is submitted by consumer):
a)	 Copy of front and back of canceled check to vendor or,
b)	 electronic copy of accounts payable showing tax paid to 

vendor and,

c)	 Self-assessed tax – Proof that tax was remitted to the 
State, such as tax accrual schedules supporting the 
taxpayer’s return. Provide accrual detail from the tax 
account period where the tax was originally reported 
up to the refund request submission date to the Kansas 
Department of Revenue. This should include accrual 
detail for each period within the refund request up to 
and including present accruals (electronic copy must be 
provided, if available).

6)	 Proof the tax was refunded to the customer (if request is 
submitted by vendor) such as one of the following:
a)	 Copy of front and back of canceled check refunding 

customer‘s payment; or,
b)	 Copy of irrevocable credit memo that was issued to 

customer.

VI.	U.S. Government Project [K.S.A. 79-3606(e)]
Complete Parts A, B, C and D of Form ST-21. Part D contains 

the following information and, if available, it must be submitted 
in an electronic format.

•	 	Invoice date (month, day and year in chronological order).
•	 	Invoice number.
•	 	Vendor name.
•	 	A complete description of the invoiced item.
•	 	Retail price of the invoiced item.
•	 	Tax paid on the invoiced item.
•	 	A complete explanation for why the item is exempt and the 

supporting statute number.

Required Documentation:
1)	 Copy of valid project exemption certificate.
2)	 Copy of invoices.
3)	 Proof that tax was paid to Kansas such as detail schedules 

supporting the original return or an electronic copy of the 
sales tax payable account to verify the tax was paid to 
Kansas (if request is submitted by vendor).

4)	 Assignment of Rights (if tax was paid to the vendor and 
consumer is seeking refund directly from Kansas).

5)	 Proof tax was paid (if request is submitted by consumer):
a)	 Copy of front and back of canceled check to vendor or,
b)	 electronic copy of accounts payable showing tax paid to 

vendor and,
c)	 Self-assessed tax – Proof that tax was remitted to the 

State, such as tax accrual schedules supporting the 
taxpayer’s return. Provide accrual detail from the tax 
account period where the tax was originally reported 
up to the refund request submission date to the Kansas 
Department of Revenue. This should include accrual 
detail for each period within the refund request up to 
and including present accruals (electronic copy must be 
provided, if available).

6)	 Proof the tax was refunded to the customer (if request is 
submitted by vendor) such as one of the following:
a)	 Copy of front and back of canceled check refunding 

customer‘s payment; or,
b)	 Copy of irrevocable credit memo that was issued to 

customer.

UTILITY EXEMPTION
Complete Form ST-28B. The more detailed information 

that you can provide, the more quickly we can process your 
request for refund.
Required Documentation:

1)	 Formulas and computations must be completed and a copy of 
your worksheet (utility study) must accompany your request. 
Your worksheet (utility study) must list all taxable and non-
taxable equipment that pulls energy from the meter for which 

https://www.census.gov/eos/www/naics/
https://www.census.gov/eos/www/naics/
https://www.ksrevenue.org/pdf/st28b.pdf
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you are seeking the sales tax exemption. The study must 
include for each device it’s quantity, energy ratings, hours 
per day used, days per year used, load factors, area of the 
facility the device is located, and taxable or exempt status. 
Hotels, motels, and nursing homes must also include the 
facilities occupancy rate for the prior calendar year or the 
most recent 12 months.

2)	 Form ST-33 must be completed by the utility provider.
3)	 Nursing homes and other entities that have both commercial 

and residential areas may use the square foot method in 
lieu of a complete study as listed in #1 above. The square 
foot method must include resident’s room dimensions, total 
square footage of the facility or include a floor plan that 
includes room dimensions and occupancy rate for the prior 
calendar year or the most recent 12 months. The square 
foot method for calculating exemptions may only be utilized 
for these type of residential* entities. For water exemption 
requests the square foot of the landscape surrounding the 
facility must also be included.

*	 Residential does not include hotels, motels and other similar 
businesses. These types of businesses must furnish a utility study 
which lists all taxable and non-taxable equipment.

4)	 If the meter for the utility exemption you are requesting is 
used for other than your exemption request, you must also 
provide all the other uses for that meter.

5)	 Include your federal Employer Identification Number (EIN) 
on your request.

PROJECT EXEMPTION CERTIFICATE (PEC) 
ENTITY

K.A.R. 92-19-66e(n) provides that a PEC entity that fails 
to secure a timely PEC for a construction project may seek 
a refund of the Kansas sales tax that was paid or remitted 
by the project’s general contractor and subcontractors on 
their materials, supplies, and labor charges for the project in 
question. To apply for a refund, complete and submit Form 
ST-21PEC. This form is available at: ksrevenue.gov

MOTOR VEHICLE, BOAT, MOBILE HOME, 
AIRCRAFT

Complete Parts A, B, C and D of Form ST-21. The more 
detailed information that you can provide, the more quickly 
we can process your request for refund.
Required Documentation:

1)	 Copy of Bill of Sale, invoice or copy of title showing vehicle 
transfer from original owner to you.

2)	 Copy of the Kansas sales tax receipt given to you by the 
County Treasurer when you registered your vehicle.

3)	 Detailed explanation of why you are requesting a refund 
(Part D of Form ST-21).

Tax was paid to another state.
a)	 Proof of tax legally imposed and paid to another state.
b)	 Copy of Bill of Sale or invoice.

Vehicle was returned to the seller or repossessed.
a)	 Proof of buyback - canceled check, invoice (TR-312) 

or signed and dated Affidavit.
b)	 Repossession Affidavit (TR-84), l ien holder 

information.

Taxpayer is exempt from paying tax.
a)	 Exemption Certificate.
b)	 Copy of Kansas sales tax receipt from County 

Treasurer or Form ST-8 given to you by the dealer.

Trade-in or dealer discount, in house rebate or 
dealer was not deducted.

a)	 Copy of bill of sale or invoice.
b)	 Copy of Kansas sales tax receipt from County 

Treasurer.
c)	 For isolated sale, completed (TR-312) form.

Non-taxable title transfer
a)	 Description of type of exempt title transfer.
b)	 Proof of exempt transfer.

•	 Affidavit of Fact (TR-12) stating the property was 
received as a gift, etc.

•	 Relationship affidavit (TR-215), if applicable.
•	 Court documents showing divorce settlement.
•	 Proof of 100% corporation transfer.

Boats, Jet Ski, Aircraft
a)	 Proof of Isolated or Occasional Sale if you have 

purchased a previously owned boat, jet ski or aircraft 
(TR-312).

b)	 Copy of sales tax receipt from County Treasurer.

Lemon Law
a)	 Legible copy of the Bill of Sale, purchase order, or 

buyer’s order.
b)	 Copy of buyback letter from vehicle manufacturer.
c)	 Copy of the check issued to customer for vehicle 

buyback.
d)	 Receipt of vehicle mileage when returned to 

dealership, if one was issued.
e)	 Copy of usage itemization provided by vehicle 

manufacturer, if one was issued.

Dealer to Dealer transaction
a)	 Copy of Bill of Sale.
b)	 Vehicle must be sold or transferred within 15 days of 

registration.

https://www.ksrevenue.org/pdf/st33.pdf
https://www.ksrevenue.gov/pub1221.html
https://www.ksrevenue.gov/pub1221.html
https://www.ksrevenue.org/pdf/tr312.pdf
https://www.ksrevenue.org/pdf/tr84.pdf
https://www.ksrevenue.org/pdf/tr312.pdf
https://www.ksrevenue.org/pdf/tr12.pdf
https://www.ksrevenue.org/pdf/tr215.pdf
https://www.ksrevenue.org/pdf/tr312.pdf
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KANSAS	 465001
SALES AND USE TAX REFUND APPLICATION

Complete this application using the instructions that begin on page 3. Entries are required on all fields marked with an asterisk (*). 
An incomplete application and missing documentation will delay the processing of your refund.

PART A - RETAILER (VENDOR)
*Business Name	 *Employer ID Number (EIN)

*Business Address	 *Kansas Tax Account Number

*City, State, Zip Code	 Previous Kansas Tax Account Number

*Contact Person	 *Telephone Number

Email Address	 Fax Number

	No	 Yes	 Retailer/Vendor authorizes KDOR to discuss this refund request with any employee of the company and not only the contact 
person listed above which prepared the request. A DO-10 (POA) is still required documentation if the request is prepared/filed by a 3rd party.
Source of refund:	  Retailer filing for tax they paid	  Retailer filing for tax paid by their customer

 Consumer filing for tax paid to a vendor	  Consumer filing for tax paid directly to the state

Did the consumer receive a refund or credit?	  No	  Yes	 If yes, enclose a copy of the credit or cancelled check.

PART B - CLAIMANT (CONSUMER)
*Claimant Name	 *Employer ID Number (EIN) or Social Security Number (SSN)

*Claimant Address

*City, State, Zip Code

*Contact Person	 *Daytime Phone Number

Email Address	 Fax Number

	No	 	Yes	 Claimant/Consumer authorizes KDOR to discuss this refund request with any employee of the company and not only the contact 
person listed above which prepared the request. A DO-10 (POA) is still required documentation if the request is prepared/filed by a 3rd party.

PART C - REFUND INFORMATION

Total Refund Request: $	 Refund Request Period(s):

Check the refund type and provide applicable exemption certificates (see instructions beginning on page 4):

 Manufacturing Machinery & Equipment, K.S.A.79-3606(kk) pg 4	 	 Hospital, School, Political Subdivision Project, K.S.A. 79-3606(d) pg 6

 Consumed in Production, K.S.A.79-3606(n) pg 5	 	 U.S. Government Project, K.S.A.79-3606(e) pg 6

 Ingredient or Component Part, K.S.A.79-3606(m) pg 5	 	 Motor Vehicle Refund pg 7

 Business or Retail Business Project, K.S.A.79-3606(cc) or	 	 Other (please explain)_______________________________________________________________

79-3606(hhhh) pg 5	 _______________________________________________________________________________________________

You are required to complete Part D (page 9). Retailer should complete Part E (page 10).
If the retailer does not respond, the claimant will need to complete Part F (page 11).

I declare under penalties of perjury that to the best of my knowledge this is a true, correct, and complete application.

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Signature of Retailer (ONLY owner, partner, company officer or POA)	 Date

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Signature of Claimant (ONLY owner, partner, company officer or POA)	 Date

ST-21 (Rev. 6-20)

 No	  Yes	 I agree to accept all written notices sent by the Department 
electronically, in lieu of written notice sent first class mail, and waive any objection 
to the legal sufficiency of any such notice because it was sent electronically.

 No	  Yes	 I agree to accept all written notices sent by the Department 
electronically, in lieu of written notice sent first class mail, and waive any objection 
to the legal sufficiency of any such notice because it was sent electronically.

https://www.ksrevenue.gov/pdf/do10.pdf
https://www.ksrevenue.gov/pdf/do10.pdf
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PART E - ASSIGNMENT OF RIGHT TO REFUND 465003PART E - ASSIGNMENT OF RIGHT TO REFUND	 465003

ASSIGNMENT OF RIGHT TO REFUND
Pursuant to K.S.A. 79-3650(a)(4)

Retailer assignment of right to allow purchaser/consumer to file refund request directly with the Kansas Department of Revenue.

(1) My name is_________________________________________________________________, and I am a duly authorized representative of_ ____________________________________________

_______________________________________________________________________________________________  (the “Assignor/Retailer”). By executing this Assignment of Right to a

Refund (“Assignment”), the Assignor/Retailer assigns all rights and interest to the tax refund herein described that the Assignor/Retailer

may have to_ ___________________________________________________________________________ (the “Assignee/Consumer”), subject to the limitation noted herein. The

Assignee’s/Consumer’s federal Employer Identification Number (EIN) is__________________________________________________________________ .

(2) The tax refund that is subject of this Assignment is described as follows:

Tax Type:____________________________________________________________ 	 Period(s):_ ___________________________________________________________________________________________________

Requested Amount:_ ____________________________________________

Transactions:_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________  (Attach schedule if necessary)

Please explain other specific limitations:_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

(3) The Assignor/Retailer agrees to provide to the Assignee/Consumer any information or documentation in their possession needed for
submission to the Kansas Department of Revenue to support or prove the refund request. Assignor/Retailer waives confidentiality to the
extent necessary for the Kansas Department of Revenue to verify the tax sought to be refunded was remitted to the Kansas Department
of Revenue.

(4) By executing this Assignment, the Assignor/Retailer affirms that the Assignor/Retailer remitted the tax sought to be refunded and has
neither previously claimed a refund nor taken a credit on a return for taxes that are subject of this Assignment, and further affirms that
the Assignor/Retailer will not claim a refund or a credit for those taxes in the future in accordance with K.S.A. 79-3615(j).

(5) The Assignor/Retailer understands the Assignor/Retailer shall be subject to the penalties of K.S.A. 79-3615(h) for any false information
provided in this statement. [$500 to $10,000 fine and one to six months imprisonment]

________________________________________________________________________________________ 	 ____________________________________________
Assignor/Retailer Entity Name	 Tax Account Number

________________________________________________________________________________________ 	 ____________________________________________
Print or type the name of the person authorizing assignment	 Relationship to Entity

________________________________________________________________________________________ 	 ____________________________________________
Signature of person authorizing assignment	 Date

________________________________________________________________________________________ 	 ____________________________________________
Email address	 Phone Number

I certify under penalties of perjury that, to the best of my knowledge, all of the information and statements made in this Assignment of Right 
to Refund are true and correct.

STATE OF KANSAS	 )
) SS:

COUNTY OF_________________________________________________________ 	 )

This Assignment of Right to Refund was acknowledged before me on_________________________________________________________________________ , 20_________________ by 

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________  as _________________________________________________________________________________________ . 
Name of Assignor/Retailer and Official Capacity (officer, superintendent, business manager, etc.)

Notary Public:___________________________________________________________________________

My appointment expires:_____________________________________________
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PART F - CLAIMANT / CONSUMER AFFIDAVIT	 465004

AFFIDAVIT
This refund application is being submitted directly to the Kansas Department of Revenue without the participation 
of                                                                     for the following reason:

 The retailer is no longer in business.

 The retailer has moved and the Consumer cannot locate the Retailer.

 The Consumer attempted in good faith to obtain a refund from the Retailer and provides documentation that the 
Retailer refused or is unable to refund the tax or did not act within 60 days of the date of the first refund request.
“Good Faith” means that the consumer provided the retailer with all of the documentation and information
needed to determine the validity of the refund request and has otherwise made a reasonable attempt to
obtain the refund from the retailer. This includes making a reasonable attempt to find the correct address of
the retailer. A mere request that a retailer agrees to allow the consumer to file a refund claim directly with
the department, without completing the Assignment of Right to Refund form, shall not constitute a good faith
attempt to obtain the refund from the retailer. (Retailers may be contacted.)

A copy of the certified letter and mail receipt to the retailer must be attached to the refund request. 

On ________________________________________________________ the first refund request and required documents were sent to
(Date)

.

I certify under penalties of perjury that, to the best of my knowledge, all of the information and statements made in this Affidavit are true 
and correct.

_ __________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 	 ________________________________________
(Claimant/Consumer’s Signature)	 (Date)

STATE OF KANSAS	 )
) SS:

COUNTY OF_ _________________________________________________________ )

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN TO before me on_________________________________________________ , 20_____________  by ___________________________________________________________

Notary Public:___________________________________________________________________________

My appointment expires:_____________________________________________

(Retailer's Name)

 _________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________

(Retailer's Name)



TAXPAYER ASSISTANCE
This publication is a general guide and will not address every situation. If you have questions or need additional information, 
please contact us at: 

Phone: 785-296-7108
Fax: 785-296-0531

Email: KDOR_Audit.Funds@ks.gov

If you wish to visit with someone in person, please call 785-296-7108 to set up an appointment.
Office hours are 8 a.m. to 4:45 p.m., Monday through Friday.

PUBLICATIONS
Below is a list of publications available on the Kansas Department of Revenue’s website. These publications contain 
instructions applicable to specific business industries and general information for all business owners.

• Publication KS-1216, Kansas Business Tax Application
• Publication KS-1220, Kansas Sales and Use Tax Refund
• Publication KS-1221PEC, Kansas Sales and Use Tax Refund (for use by PEC entities)
• Publication KS-1510, Kansas Sales and Compensating Use Tax
• Publication KS-1515, Kansas Tax Calendar of Due Dates
• Publication KS-1520, Kansas Exemption Certificates
• Publication KS-1525, Kansas Sales and Use Tax for Contractors, Subcontractors and Repairmen
• Publication KS-1526, Kansas Business Taxes for Motor Vehicle Transactions
• Publication KS-1527, Kansas Business Taxes for Political Subdivisions
• Publication KS-1530, Kansas Tire Excise Tax
• Publication KS-1540, Kansas Business Taxes for Hotels, Motels and Restaurants
• Publication KS-1550, Kansas Business Taxes for Agricultural Industries
• Publication KS-1560, Kansas Business Taxes for Schools and Educational Institutions
• Publication KS-1700, Kansas Sales and Use Tax Jurisdiction Code Booklet
• KW-100, Kansas Withholding Tax Guide

STATE SMALL BUSINESS WORKSHOPS
As part of our commitment to provide tax assistance to the business community, Tax Specialists within the Kansas Department 
of Revenue conduct small business workshops on Kansas taxes at various locations throughout Kansas. Whether you are a 
new business owner, an existing business owner, or an accountant, these workshops will give you the tools and understanding 
necessary to make Kansas taxes easier and less time consuming for you. Topics covered include filing and reporting requirements 
and methods, what is taxable, what is exempt and how to work with the department in collecting and remitting Kansas taxes.
For a schedule of our workshops, visit our website. Pre-registration is required and a fee may be charged by the sponsoring 
Small Business Development Center (SBDC).

mailto:KDOR_Audit.Funds@ks.gov
https://www.ksrevenue.gov/forms-bustax.html
https://www.ksrevenue.gov/prsmbusworkshops.html
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